How to Uninstall PS3 Firmware

Written By
Stephen Lilley
Stephen Lilley
Published: Dec 23, 2010
Updated: Feb 5, 2019
1 minute read

The factory settings, including the original firmware version, that shipped with your Sony PlayStation 3 are always stored in the console's main memory. If at any time you are unhappy with the results of an updated firmware version, you can uninstall it and reinstall your original version using the system's menu. Note, however, that you will lose all trophies and achievements as well as saved game data that you did not back up prior to this process.

Turn on your PlayStation 3.

Select "Settings."

Choose "System Settings."

Select "Restore PS3 System."

Press the "X" button.

Choose the "Format" option, and press "X." This will completely format your PlayStation 3's hard drive, deleting all of its contents and restoring your PS3 to its original factory settings, including uninstalling any firmware updates you've downloaded.

References

Stephen Lilley

Stephen Lilley is a freelance writer who hopes to one day make a career writing for film and television. His articles have appeared on a variety of websites. Lilley holds a Bachelor of Arts in film and video production from the University…

Sponsored
Our Pastimes Logo

A destination for the avid collector and weekend hobbyist alike, Our Pastimes features articles and tips about your favorite cards and games, hobbies and more.

Property of TechnologyAdvice. © 2026 TechnologyAdvice. All Rights Reserved

Advertiser Disclosure: Some of the products that appear on this site are from companies from which TechnologyAdvice receives compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site including, for example, the order in which they appear. TechnologyAdvice does not include all companies or all types of products available in the marketplace.