How to Set Up a PS3 Account on a Used PS3

A new PlayStation 3 system retails for as much as $350 depending on the version you purchase. For this reason, you may choose to purchase a used PS3 from a friend, reseller or store such as Gamestop. When you purchase a used PS3 system, it could still hold data and information from the previous owner. To set up your own PS3 account on a used PS3, the best practice is to reformat the system's hard drive to clear all the settings and start anew with the initial setup as if the PS3 is brand new.

Turn on the PlayStation 3 system and press the PS3 button on the wireless controller to connect the controller to the system. Connect the controller to the PS3 system with the controller's USB cord if it is not charged.

Select any available account on the used PS3 system and press the “X” button on the PS3 controller. Navigate to the “Settings” option on the PS3 XMB navigation menu.

Select “System Settings” located in the “Settings” sub-menu. Press the “X” button on your PS3 controller. Choose “Format Hard Disk” and press the “X” button to continue.

Select “Yes” and press the “X” button on your PS3 controller to confirm the format. The PlayStation 3 will automatically perform the format procedure.

Restart your used PS3 settings after the system format is complete. The PlayStation 3 starts and presents the initial setup options, just as a new PS3 does when first turned on.

Scroll through the list of available languages for the system and choose which language you would like to use. Press “X” to continue. Select your time zone and location and press the “X” button. Set the PlayStation 3 system clock.

Type a user name for your PS3 user account. Input this information using the on-screen keyboard or a keyboard attached to the PS3 system via USB. Press the “Start” button on your controller (or “Enter” on a connected keyboard) to save the user name entry and continue.

Review the setup options and selection you made. Press the “X” button to confirm your settings and continue. Your user account is successfully added to your used PS3 system.

Tips

  • After the initial setup and configuration of your used PS3 system, you can add additional user names for other family members or friends by choosing “Add New User” after you log into your main user account.

About the Author

Isaiah Turning is a freelance writer living in the suburbs of Philadelphia, Pa. In his three-year career, Turning has written computer and technology articles for a number of websites, most recently eHow.com.