Diamond Club

Click to play our newest game, solitaire!

Spade Heart

How to Delete Network Settings on the PS3

One way to delete the current network settings stored on a Sony PlayStation 3 (PS3) is to override the old settings by creating new settings. To do this, select “Settings,” “Network Settings,” “Internet Connection,” then “Internet Connection Settings” from the PS3 menu in successive order. Then follow the on-screen instructions to configure new network settings. If your goal is to clear the PS3’s network settings altogether, you have to perform a system restore. Performing a system restore operation on a PS3 reinstates the PS3’s default settings.

Turn on the PS3 and TV.

Use the arrow buttons on the PS3 controller to go to the “Settings” icon in the PS3’s Home menu. Highlight “System Settings.” Press the “X” button on the controller to open the “System Settings” menu.

Highlight and select “Restore Default Settings.” According to the PlayStation online user guide, this will “restore the system software to its default settings” for the current user. If multiple user accounts are set up on the PS3, highlight and select “Restore PS3 Systems” instead. According to the PlayStation online user guide, this will delete all of the hard disk content saved on the PS3 in addition to restoring the system software to its default settings for all users.

Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the system restore operation. Do not do anything with the PS3 until the system restore operation is complete.

Warnings

  • Performing the “Restore PS3 Systems” operation will clear the PS3’s network settings and also erase any files (such as music, picture and video files) stored on the PS3 hard drive.

Our Passtimes