How to Transfer PS3 Save Data From One Account to Another

How to Transfer PS3 Save Data From One Account to Another
Published: Aug 5, 2010
Updated: Jan 10, 2019
1 minute read

Transferring game saves from one account (or profile) to another is not impossible; once you save a game on one profile, you can give the save to a different one. This is useful if you decide to start playing under a different profile in the future or if you played the game on the wrong profile to start. The Sony PS3 makes the transfer a painless process.

Power on your PS3 system and one controller.

Log into the account that has the game saves.

Select “Game” from the home screen.

Open “Saved Data Utility.”

Highlight a game save that you want to transfer and press the triangle button on your controller.

Select “Copy.”

Choose the profile that you want to transfer the save to.

References

Michelle Varsallona

Michelle Varsallona started writing professionally in 2009. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in literature from The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey. She specializes in writing about all things mobile, gaming, geek-culture and vegan…

Sponsored
Our Pastimes Logo

A destination for the avid collector and weekend hobbyist alike, Our Pastimes features articles and tips about your favorite cards and games, hobbies and more.

Property of TechnologyAdvice. © 2026 TechnologyAdvice. All Rights Reserved

Advertiser Disclosure: Some of the products that appear on this site are from companies from which TechnologyAdvice receives compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site including, for example, the order in which they appear. TechnologyAdvice does not include all companies or all types of products available in the marketplace.