What Is Kosher Candy?

candy image by cherie from Fotolia.com

Remaining kosher, following certain dietary restrictions that make a food clean or unclean in the eyes of Jews, is a major part of Judaism. These restrictions pertain to every aspect of their culinary tradition, even candy.

Animal Products

Any animal products, such as gelatin, from non-kosher animals automatically makes the candy non-kosher. Only if milk is readied according to kosher laws can it be used in kosher candy.

Tithed

If ingredients are coming directly from Israel, they must be tithed to be used in kosher candy. Tithing is the process of removing a little over 1 percent of the product, reciting certain passages from the Torah, and discarding the removed portion.

 

Equipment

Any equipment or utensils that have been used for non-kosher foods cannot be used in making kosher candy. As soon as intended kosher candy touches a non-kosher tool, it automatically is no longer able to be consumed by those following Jewish dietary laws.

 

References

About the Author

Based in Kingston, Canada, Samantha Lowe has been writing for publication since 2006. She has written articles for the "Mars' Hill" newspaper and copy for various design projects. Her design and copy for the "Mars' Hill" won the Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker award in 2008. Lowe holds an Honors BA from Trinity Western University, and a MSc in Occupational Therapy from Queen's University where she is currently doing her PhD.

Photo Credits